Loss of baggage / delayed baggage

Home/Loss of baggage / delayed baggage

An unhappy scenario: You arrive at your holiday destination or return home after a flight – but the airline has lost your baggage or it is delayed.

a) Flights (excluding a package holiday)

According to the Montréal Convention, you are entitled to 1,131 Special Drawing Rights as compensation for the loss or delay of your baggage (a Special Drawing Right is an artificial currency introduced by the International Monetary Fund).

Translated, this equals approx. € 1,400.00. Of course, a requirement is that your baggage or your loss due to the delay reaches this value.

Tip:
In our experience, it is difficult to state the exact contents of the baggage or to determine its value. Before going on a trip, make a list of the items you are packing, right down the approximate value and document with photographs. This makes it easier to assert a claim later.

 
b) Package holiday

If you have booked a package holiday, i.e. a travel package (mostly consisting of a flight, transfer, hotel and food) with a travel agent, you can claim for a guarantee pursuant to Sections 651 a et seqq of the German Civil Code (BGB), irrespective of the compensation under the Montréal Convention. The compensation claim must be reviewed on an individual basis. Case law allows between 10% and 50% of the daily price of the holiday as compensation.

Gepäckverlust / verspätet zugestelltes Gepäck

Startseite/Gepäckverlust / verspätet zugestelltes Gepäck

Ein unschönes Szenario: Sie erreichen den Urlaubsort oder kehren nach einer Flugreise nach Hause zurück – doch die Fluggesellschaft hat ihr Reisegepäck verloren bzw. es wird verspätet zugestellt.

a) Flugreise (außerhalb einer Pauschalreise)

Nach dem Montrealer Übereinkommen (MÜ) stehen Ihnen für den Verlust oder die verspätete Zustellung des Reisegepäcks bis zu 1.131 sogenannte Sonderziehungsrechte (SZR) als Entschädigung zu (Sonderziehungsrecht ist eine künstliche, vom Internationalen Währungsfonds eingeführte Währung).

Das sind aktuell umgerechnet ca. 1.400,- €. Voraussetzung ist natürlich, dass Ihr Reisegepäck oder ihr Verspätungsschaden diesen Wert erreicht.

Tipp:
Unserer Erfahrung nach fällt es bei Gepäckverlust schwer, den genauen Inhalt des Gepäcks wiederzugeben bzw. den Wert zu bestimmen. Legen Sie bereits vor der Reise eine Liste der mitgenommenen Sachen an, vermerken Sie den ungefähren Wert und machen Sie Fotos zur Dokumentation. Das erleichtert die spätere Geltendmachung eines Anspruchs!

 
b) Pauschalreise

Sollten Sie eine Pauschalreise, also ein Gesamtreisepaket (meistens bestehend aus Flug, Transfer, Hotel & Verpflegung) bei einem Reiseveranstalter gebucht haben, können Sie unabhängig von einer Entschädigung nach dem Montrealer Übereinkommen, Gewährleistungsansprüche nach §§ 651 a ff. BGB geltend machen. Der Entschädigungsanspruch muss einzelfallbezogen geprüft werden. Die Rechtsprechung billigt zwischen 10 % und 50 % des Tages-Reisepreises als Entschädigung zu.